GoGo Penguin

Product Code: 3565296
Release Date: 7th May 2021
Product Code: 3565296
Release Date: 7th May 2021

Cooked up in the Blue Note Lab, RMX presents last years band-defining masterpiece, GoGo Penguin, re-imagined through the filter of some of the worlds finest producers and remixers. For RMX the idea was both simple and inspired; commission a remix of every track from last years album and present a total re-imagination of the record, a remix, or as the band title it, a RMX. In the end they went one better; with a remix of every track (and two of one) plus a remix of the track Petit_a, which was originally released only in Japan before surfacing on their Live from Studio 2 digital EP. The idea behind RMX was also the catalyst for a remarkably inspired collaboration. The Manchester trio's music has always drawn heavily on electronica (alongside jazz, indie and classical influences) and so commissioning ten of their favourite artists to rework their music made perfect sense - and the results are spectacular. One of the very best remix projects you will hear anywhere. 

Amongst the many highlights are Squarepushers thumping remix of F Maj Pixie, alongside Japanese producers Cornelius and Yosi creating sublime new landscapes with the bands music on Kora and Embers. James Holden assembles an epic synth odyssey around Totem and Portico Quartet produce a sympathetic reworking of Dont Go. Band faves Clark and Nathan Fake produce inimitable reworkings as does noted French producer Rone, while American producer Machine Drum turns Atomised into dance floor friendly belter which is also the first single. Finally, the band have not forgotten their hometown - Manchester is well represented, with remixes from elder statesman and dance music legend Graham Massey (808 state) and new discovery Shunya, whose enigmatic reworking of To The Nth almost steals the record.

1. Kora (Cornelius Remix)

2. Atomised (Machinedrum Remix)

3. Embers (Yosi Horikawa Remix)

4. F Major Pixie (Rone Remix)

5. F Major Pixie (Squarepusher Remix)

6. Open (Nathan Fake Remix)

7. Signal in the Noise (808 State Remix)

8. Totem (James Holden Remix)

9. To the Nth (Shunya Remix)

10. Petit_a (Clark Remix)

11. Dont Go (Portico Quartet Remix)

Customer Reviews
Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!

You will earn 26 points with this purchase