The Black Crowes
Shake Your Money Maker (2020 Remaster)

Product Code: 6.03E+11
Stock Status: In Stock
Product Code: 6.03E+11
Stock Status: In Stock

Shake Your Money Maker is the debut album by The Black Crowes, released in February 1990 on Def American Recordings. It is the only album by the band to feature guitarist Jeff Cease. The album is named after a classic blues song written by Elmore James. The album may borrow heavily from the bluesy hard rock grooves of the Rolling Stones and Faces (plus a bit of classic soul), but the band gets away with it due to sharp songwriting and an ear for strong riffs and chorus melodies, not to mention the gritty, muscular rhythm guitar of Rich Robinson and brother Chris' appropriate vocal swagger. The original album has been newly remastered from the original tapes.

Bonus material - Hours of audio from the original studio sessions and live shows have now been curated under by brothers Chris and Rich Robinson and album producer George Drakoulias. The new collection features 5 unreleased songs including the should have been a single studio track Charming Mess along with studio recording covers of Humble Pies 30 Days In The Hole and John Lennons Jealous Guy. The set also includes 2 previously unreleased demos from when the band was originally called Mr. Crowes Garden and liner notes penned by David Fricke.

Also unearthed were the original multitrack tapes from the bands homecoming concert. Recorded over two nights at Atlanta, GAs Center Stage, the full concert is now available for the first time ever. Previously, only the live version of She Talks To Angels was released from this show.

Liner notes are by David Fricke and the deluxe 3CD set and the 4LP super deluxe set come with reproductions of an early Mr. Crowes Garden show flyer, setlist and tour laminate; a four-inch Crowes patch; and a 20-page book.

Customer Reviews
Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!

You will earn 18 points with this purchase